top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Featured Blog

If you have a blog  or a business with an website and would like to be featured send me the information using the contact me page.

RSS Feed

Keep me Cute: In the Kitchen

I would like to start this post off by saying THANK YOU! Thank you to everyone who took the time out to read my last post and even share it. I hope to grow with you all and also to hear more feedback about the blogs and more about your hopes and dreams!

Earlier this week I was thinking about what I would share next and I decided to show you all how I've been keeping it cute in my kitchen.

Recently, I have been really trying to live a healthier lifestyle. What I've learned so far is that healthy living first comes by renewing your mind. I cannot tell you how many times I've made bizarre goals to lose weight and get fit. By bizarre I mean like going from eating super unhealthy foods like hamburgers pizza all kinds of fried food and extreme amounts of takeout to one day saying I'm a vegetarian. Insane! I know and then after a week or two I'm totally burnt out and back to my very unhealthy eating habits. So this time I'm taking baby steps. I started with cutting out fast food on week days. Everyday I make myself cook something. I love this because I get to see everything that I'm putting in my body. I get to pick out my ingredients and make each dish to my liking. I also have peace of mind knowing that everything is clean. This may sound weird to some people, but I was a waitress at a very well known restaurant for years as a college student and I can definitely say that while the food was AMAZING there were some questionable sanitary procedures. In my kitchen I know that my dishes are clean my hands are clean my stove is clean etc. Also, because I'm buying all the ingredients I'm less wasteful I try to make my groceries last as long as they can so I'm very careful to make enough without overdoing it.

When I first started cooking meals daily I would get slightly frustrated because of the dishes. I went from barely using dishes to having to wash them everyday. So I have a few tips that I have implemented in my kitchen.

  • Start off with a spotless kitchen. -When your kitchen is clean from the start you'll be able to find everything you need and start your cooking process hassle free. Make sure your sink and dishwasher are empty.

  • Have all of your ingredients ready. -Know what you're going to make before you even go to the kitchen. Have your cooking instructions as well as ingredients already out. The cooking process is smooth and easy this way. I like to plan my meals by the week, that way I know what I need and how long its going to take me each day to cook.

  • Clean as you go! -This is a big one! If you don't want to be overwhelmed at the end of the process clean as you go.

  • Never put pots and pans in the refrigerator. -If you have left overs put them in tupperware containers. This helps you keep your fridge organized and also smelling fresh.

  • Clean up everything before bed! -After you eat it can be tempting to just sit and watch your favorite tv show or read or whatever you do at night. But don't fall into that trap, as soon as you finish clear your plate and wash it or put your dishes in the dishwasher which should be clean by the way because it was clear before you started cooking. Now start your dishwasher and then you can continue with your night time routine as normal.

I hope this inspires you to begin your journey to a healthier you! Share your favorite recipes and how you keep your kitchen organized with me in the comments below.

-With lots of love

Khrystal


  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page